Hunting R

The Toa of Between Golf and Trading

Archive for October 14th, 2006

The Three Comandments

Posted by huntingr on October 14, 2006

capture10-15-2006-15802-pm.jpg

I was just enjoying a rainy day by watching a little golf on TV. It sad that I never watch TV and when I do its golf. During the tournament it was said that, “no to golf swings are alike”. This made the question, “are any two trading styles alike?”, come to mind. I have met way to many traders that do things very different. It makes me think the same thing applies to

trading.
If this is the case the best question for the striving or struggling trader would be what the fundamentals are. When I golf I try to only focus on the three commandments – Tempo, Follow Through, and A Still Head. When I focus on these and take each shot as it comes I play my best golf. I feel that I should focus on three main points during my trading as well.
The first and key to trading is Risk Control. I have set up my plan for all this and built a excel sheet to automat the key parts. So this first point in going to be sticking to my Stops. I have very little problems with this but it should still be number one.
The second key point would have to be a Plan. I have again creating a excel sheet that helps me with this. What the computer cannot do is make me follow the plan.
The third one seems to have to be Feel. This one is a lot hard to get my head around. There comes that time right before you enter a trade that you just have to feel that it’s the best move. A ton of this comes from what’s happening out there in the general market. I guess this is why they say that experience is the best teacher.
So my new mantra for trading, or the three commandments, is going to be Stops, Plan, and Feel.

Posted in stock trading | Leave a Comment »